Image

Lock Stock Pomodoros

I give you http://pom.ianchanning.com. Pomodoros with a Lock Stock film quote at the end of each one.

I’m a little obsessive about timers (see bottom) and the other pomodoro timers I’ve tried failed on different counts.

I’ve tried to cram everything I find useful about a timer.

Firstly spacebar to start/stop. The timer should be something that sits in the background and requires minimal attention. So a quick ctrl+tab to get the the pomodoro tab and then hit space and then back to your work.

Secondly the timer appears in the title bar and it appears first. Then you can easily see that it’s running so that you can still see the timer when you have lots of tabs open.

Thirdly there’s a start and stop. Possibly this flies against what a Pomodoro timer should do. However any timer I have I want to be able to start/stop/reset. That’s just what a timer should do, it’s annoying if it doesn’t.

Fourthly the timer has to notify you properly when the pomodoro finishes. This is achieved through a buzzer and a browser notification. Notifications sometimes don’t work or you don’t see them so you need the buzzer backup. Sorry IE folks your browser is still terrible and can’t handle the Javascript Notifications and I can’t be bothered to fix it when it’s just for a personal project.

Fifthly a count of the pomodoros is useful to know how many you cranked out in the day.

Sixthly, a bit of browser responsiveness goes a long way.

And that’s it. No more please.

Well except I needed to put something in the notification so I jazzed things up with quotes from Lock Stock and Two Smoking Barrels. If you can’t take the ‘c’ word at least once then this timer is not for you.

For those who got this far. I started with the most basic timer I could think of that still had a simple start-stop mechanism. Then after staring at the jquery code I’d copied I realised I could make a generic jquery ticker function. So I can tick 25 minutes down and then tick the pomodoro count up 1 each time. The rest is a codged together front end on top of that.

Leave a Reply

