Hoping the Brexit vote was a protest vote, not a racist one

The only positive I hope from this is that the Brexit vote was a protest vote.

So I’m hoping the majority of ‘leavers’ aren’t siding with Farage, they don’t care about Boris – they just want to say Fuck You to all politicians and leaders.

This is probably the first and only time that the entire population have been given a protest vote. This is not a choice between one dodgy politician or another politician. This is not choosing between Trump or Clinton.

This is a chance to say fuck you to every single party. This is fuck you to the leaders of both the Conservative and Labour parties.

When this chance comes along – you don’t care about the consequences. You don’t care if the ‘leave’ campaign is spouting lies, you don’t care about the doom spouted by the ‘remain’ campaign. You just want a chance to say fuck you. You know the system is wrong and this is the only tool you’ve got to say so.

I certainly respect the people who protest for what they believe in. Perhaps I’m wrong for thinking all the pensioners don’t care about the consequences. Perhaps they know better than me that the pain of leaving is worth it.

There are some heart felt comments from leavers, not based on the crap spouted by the leave campaign, in this blog post Dear Brexiteer. What we need you to do now.:

“I voted leave , There its out there .. I trusted DC to come back from Brussels with a list of pledges that would let us have some tools to work with to make me feel that improvements could be made to the way we live..
Be it a better NHS ,Schools ,social care services,security. ..
He came back with nothing and nothing was offered .. in fact we were told that it would never change..
So people who have had enough like myself and 17 million others voted with our feet in the only way we know .. a very British revolt ..
Now we are being called racist and xenophobic but this is just so untrue for the masses.. we just need change .
The EU is a broken antique of a monster that isn’t up to listening to the working classes..
We have been called inward looking but again that is not true. . I concider myself Global I want to be able to talk with anyone across the world’s economy. .
Things will never be the same again and for that I feel that my cross mattered.
The first time I think the working class has ever mattered…”

So I hope when all the dust settles that we’re all still willing to tell Farage and Johnson to go fuck themselves (I’m pretty sure not many people care about what Gove says).

Leave a Reply

